The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced that Daytime Emmy winning actress Susan Lucci and talk show host Maury Povich will be honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 50th Daytime Emmy Awards ceremony. NATAS president and CEO Adam Sharp said in a statement: “We are thrilled to be recognizing two icons with lifetime achievement honors. Both of them have had astonishing success and deep impact in the world of daytime television, Susan in drama series and Maury in talk, and have left their indelible marks on the industry.”

NATAS also announced the 2023 inductees for its Gold and Silver Circle, which recognize admired individuals who have made enduring contributions to daytime television: Tanya Hart, Wendy Riche, Al Schwartz and Vernée Watson will be inducted into the Gold Circle, while Christina Knack and Patrick Weiland will join the Silver Circle.

Lucci received 19 Daytime Emmy nominations before winning the award for playing Erica Kane on ABC’s All My Children. Lucci reflected on the honor in a statement. “I am truly humbled to receive this esteemed award from the Academy. Throughout my career, I have been incredibly fortunate to work alongside exceptional talents and embraced by my fans that have been with me every step of the way. This honor is not just a reflection of my journey, but a testament to the enduring power of storytelling and the profound connection we are so lucky to forge with audiences all over the world through television.”

Povich hosted the The Maury Povich Show from 1991 to 1998, followed by the syndicated talk show Maury from 1998 to 2022. Povich said in a statement: “I’m just blown away by this honor from the Academy. I have always had great respect for its work as I served on the National Board and was President of the New York Chapter. I guess if you hang around long enough, some good things happen. It’s been a 60+ year ride for me in this business, so I feel extremely blessed with this acknowledgment.”

NATAS has postponed the 2023 Daytime Emmys ceremony originally set for June 16 due to the writers strike. The lifetime achievement and Gold and Silver Circle honorees will be celebrated when the ceremony is rescheduled.

Editorial credit: Kathy Hutchins /

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *