HBO Max announced that the cast of the eight Harry Potter films — including Daniel Radcliffe (Harry Potter), Rupert Grint (Ron Weasley), and Emma Watson (Hermione Granger) — will take part in the ‘Harry Potter 20th Anniversary: Return to Hogwarts” reunion special.  Filmmaker Chris Columbus and cast members Helena Bonham Carter, Robbie Coltrane, Ralph Fiennes, Jason Isaacs, Gary Oldman, Imelda Staunton, Tom Felton, James Phelps, Oliver Phelps, Bonnie Wright, Matthew Lewis and Evanna Lynch will also take part in the special event.

Return to Hogwarts will celebrate the anniversary of the first film, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, which opened in theaters 20 years ago on November 16th, 2001.  Warner Bros. said in a statement that the special will “tell an enchanting making-of story through all-new, in-depth interviews and cast conversations. This retrospective is a tribute to everyone whose lives were touched by this cultural phenomenon — from the talented cast and crew who poured their heart and soul into this extraordinary film franchise to the passionate fans who continue to keep the Wizarding World spirit alive 20 years later.” 

The Harry Potter films are based on the J.K. Rowling fantasy book series and were released between 2001 and 2011.  Harry Potter 20th Anniversary: Return to Hogwarts will premiere Jan. 1, 2022, on HBO Max.

Editorial credit: s_bukley /

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *